Something lovely for the weekend (12.6.15)

IMG_5070

What are your plans for the weekend?

I plan do do something lovely!

I might get the sewing machine out in the morning. I picked up some vintage Laura Ashley curtains in a charity shop and after I’ve altered them to fit my kitchen window I think there will be fabric left to make something pretty for myself, like a bag or a skirt. I might do something in the garden, we have plans for an ambitious bug house from scavenged materials and I still have an empty planter to fill. If the sun comes out I might take a walk because this is a great week for enjoying all the shades of green that early summer has to offer. I might get on with some of my writing projects, I’m hoping to make a announcement about what I’m up to quite soon now.

The weekend really does calls for something memorable, or creative or beautiful, don’t you think? I definitely think we will be finding some time over the weekend to make muffins.

Last weekend Lucy made muffins with raspberries and white chocolate chips and mid week Peter made muffins with dried cranberries and almonds. They are very talented children but of course they have a great recipe. I’m sharing the muffin recipe on the blog today. I have shared it before but I’m totally unashamed of the duplication.

The recipe below is for cranberry and almond muffins but the recipe can easily be adapted to take other fruit, nuts and chocolate as you see fit. It really is a very easy, never-fails-me gem of a recipe that I devised after many years of experimenting with a million recipes from both sides of the Atlantic.

Send me a photo if you bake this weekend!

photo

Cranberry and Almond Muffins

Ingredients

9oz/250g SR flour

4-5oz/100-150g castor sugar

1 heaped teaspoon baking powder

2oz/50g dried cranberries

1/2 teaspoon of almond essence (optional)

4-5fl oz/100-150ml milk or butter milk

3oz/75g melted butter

2 eggs

2oz/50g flaked almonds

  1. Preheat the oven, 160 or gas mark 3
  2. Combine all the dry ingredients, apart from the flaked almonds, in a bowl
  3. Lightly beat the eggs then, combine all the wet ingredients in a second bowl
  4. Combine the dry and the wet ingredients, being careful not to mix them too thoroughly
  5. Divide the mixture between 12 muffin cases in a muffin pan
  6. Sprinkle the top of the mixture with flaked almonds
  7. Bake until the muffins are well risen and lightly browned, 20-25 minutes
  8. Cool on a wire tray

Why not check out my inspirational board of Home baking on Pinterest, or check out some of my other posts about muffins.

Muffins

Choc-chip banana muffins

Snickers muffins

3 thoughts on “Something lovely for the weekend (12.6.15)

  1. I stole this recipe from you when you first published it, and have reproduced it with various fillings every month. One of our favourites is fudge chunks AND chocolate chips (one of the ‘eaters’ doesn’t like fruit!). If you get even two of your ambitions done this weekend, I will be suitably impressed!!! I love the sound of the Laura Ashley curtains!!! Pics to follow?

Leave a Reply

