Walking on rainbows

rainbowy

rainbowyarn

rainbowsock

I write like I knit like I pray.

Words come like stitches, prayer slips gently from my lips. The written piece takes shape. The fabric on the needle grows. I cast off the work, the garment is finished, there is more yarn in the stash. Some written pieces come quickly and easily, others are laboured over for days or weeks or years. One by one, sentences like rows, the fabric grows, God shows up and I am found.

Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.

Galatians 6.9

I’m working through the stitches and lining up the rows, I’m turning the heels and tapering the toes because life without promise is a confusing mess and I need to bring more goodness into the here and now of my home. Promises are set free from the pages of unopened Bibles and when knees buckle we will carry on walking even though the ground gives way. We can feel our own soft feet, in the colours of a God who promises he will not leave us or forsake us. And we are always safe.

I finished the rainbow socks for Lucy and I tell her I made them so she can walk on the promises of God. It’s an idea I borrowed, but one I am making my own. One stitch, one verse of scripture, one small prayer at a time, slipped from these lips like the loop of yarn slipped from the needle and into the coloured fabric of the promised sock. Noah is saved through a terrible flood and when it is all over a rainbow is set amongst the clouds, a promise of the covenant that God is set to keep. A promise to his people forever.

And though His promises are many, His promise is this:

Rest for the wearyCome to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. Matthew 11.28-29

Strength for those who are weak – He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint. Isaiah. 40.29-31

Peace in every situation – Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid. John 14.26-28

 

rainbowcake

I’m sharing this post on Ginny Sheller’s Yarn Along. You can learn more about this at gsheller.com. She writes,

The Yarn Along began in early Fall 2010 as a way to share knitting projects and good reads; motivating ourselves, and inspiring each other. Every week knitters, and a few crocheters as well, link up and share a photo (or two) of what they are knitting and what they are reading. Knowing that Yarn Along Wednesday is coming up is a great way to stay motivated to finish those projects! And I, for one, am always on the lookout for a great book recommendation as well.

yarnalong

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Walking on rainbows

Leave a Reply

