Portable knits

I’m on holiday this week and feeling pretty pleased with myself about this post. It was written before I went away and set up ready to publish in my absence.

aquasock

psock

So, this week I’m camping with my lovely church family and a whole bunch of other related churches. We will get to see some of those very special friends, that though you only see them once or twice a year the relationships seem to have an immensity that is totally out of proportion to time spent together. We will be eating together, playing together, talking together, singing together and listening together, to ever increasing good news of Holy Spirit hope and Jesus kingdom restoration. All the knitting will be portable in the form of socks, socks and more socks.

blueknit

In readiness for going away I have been finishing a few baby projects. These are for friends who have had babies since I saw them last. The tiny aqua socks and the tiny pink socks were fiddly to finish and I abandoned the kitchener stitch in favour of a simple cast off where I picked up a stitch from the front then the back needle and knitted them together. Very quick and satisfying. The little blue jumper will be sewn together in the car. I always put off the sewing up of the seams because I make such a bumpy job of it how ever carefully I work.

rainbowy

pinkyarn

I’m also pretty excited about new yarn. There is a rainbow sock yarn from FabFunkyFibres at Etsy and a Rowan baby alpaca, colour shade ruby, which I will use to make myself a Ginny Sheller inspired shawl. This will be my first triangular shawl and I’ve been studying a few Youtube tutorials in preparation for the challenge ahead.

leaf

My holiday reading is mainly John Irving. I’m starting with Until I find You and finishing with The Hotel New Hampshire.

Holiday plans are looking good!

I’m sharing this post on Ginny Sheller’s Yarn Along. You can learn more about this at gsheller.com. She writes,

The Yarn Along began in early Fall 2010 as a way to share knitting projects and good reads; motivating ourselves, and inspiring each other. Every week knitters, and a few crocheters as well, link up and share a photo (or two) of what they are knitting and what they are reading. Knowing that Yarn Along Wednesday is coming up is a great way to stay motivated to finish those projects! And I, for one, am always on the lookout for a great book recommendation as well.

yarnalong

2 thoughts on “Portable knits

Leave a Reply

