One stitch closer

stripesock

There have beens some challenges lately, I won’t pretend otherwise. Challenges of the heart and soul and a little unravelling of the fabric of expectations and aspirations in our family life. In it all, by God’s good grace, I’ve seen a sure and certain way ahead so I just keep travelling forwards, wrapping the yarn, slipping the loop and moving one stitch closer to the end of the row. I’m knitting through this tough place just as hard as I can.

On Saturday morning Lucy and I made eggy bread which we ate at the kitchen table. We sprinkled it with brown sugar and declared it better than bacon. I made a pot of coffee and took a cup upstairs for Andy.  I sat at the end of the bed knitting whilst he drank his coffee and he said he used to think it was nice for me to have a hobby but now he can see that knitting is much more than this.

On Sunday I broke my favourite bamboo knitting needle. Moving up the sofa, towards the window for more light. Work still in hand, I leant on the needle, the full pressure of my weight and heard the wooden fibre snap. In the kitchen we smoothed out the wound and wrapped it in a slither of sticky tape, smoothing out the rough parts with warm fingers and great care.

So now I’m knitting loose with a lot more slack in my yarn to help the stitches move smoothly over the rough place where the needle broke.

I’m writing this piece to share on Ginny Sheller’s Yarn On, a place where each Wednesday we are invited to share what we are knitting and what we are reading. I finished the wide stripe socks and I’m now knitting a similar sock in a blue space dyed yarn.

yarn

book

I bought Anne Tyler’s, The Beginner’s Goodbye on Saturday and finished it on Monday. Anne Tyler creates extremely human, flawed characters who instead of following the usual tragic routes find unexpected grace and transformation in the everyday circumstances of messy human relationships, loss, failure and discontent. In The Beginner’s Goodbye, Aaron is suddenly widowed and as he moves through the process of grief he comes face to face with the flawed nature of his past marriage through a series of unexpected meetings with his now dead wife. The story has a warm Tyler-esque ending full of hope and an unexpected love match.

You can join Ginny’s “Yarn Along” every Wednesday on her blog.

The Yarn Along began in early Fall 2010 as a way to share knitting projects and good reads; motivating ourselves, and inspiring each other.  Every week knitters, and a few crocheters as well, link up and share a photo (or two) of what they are knitting and what they are reading.  Knowing that Yarn Along Wednesday is coming up is a great way to stay motivated to finish those projects!  And I, for one, am always on the lookout for a great book recommendation as well.

4 thoughts on “One stitch closer

  1. Hate it when my needles break! I used to deal have a cat who loved to chew up the cables of my circs and then the yarn would forever snag on the munched up parts. Made me SO mad and made knitting complicated and stressful! On the bright side, your socks are lovely!

Leave a Reply

