In which I find a new blog to read and feel inspired

So I haven’t blogged much lately. But I have written nearly every day. My assessment of the situation is this: you wouldn’t want to read what I have been writing about or I wouldn’t want you to read what I’ve been writing about. Either way it has all led to a lot of ink on a lot of pages but nothing published.

I’m probably reading fewer blogs and spending less time online generally but yesterday was a great online reading day because I found a really beautiful blog that made me want to write something for publishing again.

Ann Voskamp (who I read without fail even when I’m not online very much) published a guest piece by Ginny Sheller, a homeschooling mum of seven children. She knits, keeps bees and takes the most beautiful photographs of the Virginia countryside and her beautiful family life.

Ginny wrote a piece about God taking her relentless desire for control and order, and shaping it into something more restful and trusting, through her experiences of caring for her family. She writes,

And I think I’m finally letting the truth sink in, that if the house is messy, nothing bad will happen.

And really…

There are no winners in the race to get it all done.

Because the reality is that after those things are done, there is still more. While I’m folding the laundry, my three year old son and his sisters are playing in the mud.

It would be impossible to keep an immaculate home and raise this family well. And God isn’t asking me to do the impossible.

Nothing bad will happen if I can’t clean this mess today.

I read the piece and I was hooked, fresh air breathed into the suffocating stress of a too-much-to -do life. I hopped over to her blog and read a little more of her story , comforting words on finding grace and truth amongst the hard or mundane things of life.

And I was really taken with her Wednesday link-up where she invites readers to share what the are knitting and what they are reading. So here I am; sharing what I am reading and what I’m knitting.

sock

knit

book

I’ve been furiously in search of the perfect sock yarn and the perfect sock pattern. I’m currently working on my own sock pattern and my friend at the Yarn Fairy in Southport suggested that I tried a new sock wool from Sirdar called Heart and Sole. Initially I disliked the wide stripe but I’m gradually coming round to the idea now that the garment is taking its final shape. I’m thinking that these socks will be perfect for our summer camping trips as slippers or in wellies.

The Wendell Berry  is also set to be a summer tent companion, a poet for outdoor times. This poem calms my thoughts like the words of a new born psalm 23.

The Peace of Wild Things

When despair grows in me
and I wake in the middle of the night at the least sound
in fear of what my life and my children’s lives may be,
I go and lie down where the wood drake
rests in his beauty on the water, and the great heron feeds.
I come into the peace of wild things
who do not tax their lives with forethought
of grief. I come into the presence of still water.
And I feel above me the day-blind stars
waiting for their light. For a time
I rest in the grace of the world, and am free.

Wendell Berry

daisy

You can join Ginny’s “Yarn Along” every Wednesday on her blog.

The Yarn Along began in early Fall 2010 as a way to share knitting projects and good reads; motivating ourselves, and inspiring each other.  Every week knitters, and a few crocheters as well, link up and share a photo (or two) of what they are knitting and what they are reading.  Knowing that Yarn Along Wednesday is coming up is a great way to stay motivated to finish those projects!  And I, for one, am always on the lookout for a great book recommendation as well.

4 thoughts on “In which I find a new blog to read and feel inspired

  1. I read that same blog post by Ginny and a light bulb went off for me too. I am choosing to spend more time doing the things I like to do, instead of the things I THINK I need to do. Your socks look great. I love the wide stripes and I think I will go and search for that yarn! Blessings to you.

    • Hi Donna. I visisted your blog and had a little peek at your yarn and your knitting. It’s the real thing! Whereas mine is very small and domestic in a British kind of way. Thanks for your kind words, love online knitting friendship! Blessings.

  2. The yarn along link up has been a grace in my life in so many ways for more than a year now and I hope it will be the same for you! I love Wendell Berry and was just weighing the idea of rereading Jayber Crow one of these days but your post made it clear to me that I should return to my copy of what I think is the same book of poems, which sits only partially read on my shelf.

    • Hi Sarah. I have to confess I haven’t read Jayber Crowe but think I maybe will. I just read one or two of the poems on the evenings then aloud to my husband if they are especially lovely. I visited your blog and loved all your kids and stitching and knitting. You take a good photo. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

