Five Minute Friday: Friends

friends

Photo credit, Pinterest: http://gb.pinterest.com/pin/472596554619968549/

It would be an understatement to say I am behind with my Five Minute Friday.

I don’t have anything more to offer than the picture above however I am happy to tell you that a few of my friends have produced some lovely short pieces on the precious subject of friends and you will find these below.

Heidi

Friend is a word with such positive connotations- companionship, acceptance, loyalty and fun, to name just a few. It’s a word not usually spoken in a derogatory manner. So it is more than a little ironic, then, for Jesus to be actually ridiculed for being a friend – specifically, a friend of sinners. Oh, I wish I could have been there. Despite the speaker’s accusatory tone and laughably holier than Him attitude, I imagine a mere glimpse of a wry smile brushing over Jesus’ face. For the words themselves capture the purest essence of the glorious gospel. As always, Jesus takes what was intended for harm and turns it into good. Ever since that moment, hearts have been overwhelmed repeatedly, countless prayers have been uttered thankfully, and songs both ancient and modern have been sung passionately, all inspired by the wondrous beauty of this revelation. He is indeed a friend of sinners, and He transforms us oh-so-unworthy sinners into holy and righteous saints. I admit I both struggle and delight in this kind of relationship. I struggle because to call Jesus my friend seems a little, well, over familiar, irreverent almost. After all, HE IS GOD. And yet, the same Scriptures that tell of His awesome majesty and splendour are also the Scriptures that tell of His relentless pursuit of me, that I may share an eternity-long friendship with Him. Nothing could stand in the way of that pursuit, not even Calvary. It defies all logic and understanding. But, every day, I delight in the reality of this soul-tingling truth….

Karen

A friend is such a great treasure to have.  Someone who chooses to love you and share life with you out of choice rather than compulsion.  I have some really great friends –some I see often and some I don’t see very much at all because they live in other cities, and continents and our worlds don’t collide very often.. Each friend though is unique they are part of a particular chapter, place or season of my life – school, college, university, work and church.  No two are the same and each one has great qualities and treasures to impart into my life.  Friends make a difference, they care, laugh and cry with us, share our ups and downs and more importantly love us for just being us.  I can live without mobiles, computers, tv and perhaps even books, but I can’t live without my friends.

Su

Go into your nearest town on a crowded Saturday afternoon and look around you.
Everywhere you look there are pairs, groups of people, FRIENDS ….

… read more HERE

Debbie

I have to be honest – when I saw this week’s prompt, I thought ‘Oh No!’ Everyone is going to be writing deep and meaningful things with beauty and eloquence – and I though – nah, I’ll sit this one out…

… read more HERE

 

If you would like to join us by writing a piece for Five Minute Friday the prompt will be available tomorrow and I am happy to host writing for anyone who does not have their own blog. It has been lovely to see so many contributions over the past few weeks and to enjoy a little shared friendship over a common interest through our Facebook group and by commenting on one another’s blogs.

Thanks friends.

5minutefriday

What is Five Minute Friday?

We write for five minutes flat. All on the same prompt that Lisa Jo Baker posts at 1 minute past midnight EST ever Friday at lisajobaker.com. And we connect on Twitter with the hashtag #FiveMinuteFriday

No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation.

Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Friends

  1. To all you lovely ‘ladies wot write’ these are all great and so encouraging. Sorry I didn’t manage even a 5 min blog last week. Here’s one of my favourite friendship quotes ‘Friendship is born at that moment you say ‘What you too! I thought I was the only one” C S Lewis

Leave a Reply

