Seven beautiful days …

 

Image

On Monday we had a sun blest day out in the English Lakes, double blessed because we had been disappointed when night temperatures fell to near zero and we abruptly cancelled our camping trip plans. We said a firm “No”!” to a hard work holiday where the kids woke cold at 2 am, didn’t go back to sleep and we were left to fill a long outdoor day on not enough sleep and little else.

I am learning that life is not supposed to be forever a trial, always difficult, an uphill climb. I am learning that you only have to open your eyes wide and see that there are gifts everywhere waiting to be found, even in the dull hopeless situations. I am learning it by counting gifts and pausing to name everything I know to be good.

Seven beautiful days … is my effort at sharing some small and not so small things that counted as a blessing for me this week.

A modest photo I took of an empty snail shell, but click on the photo for an amazing slideshow of living snails close up.

snail

Rachel Sussman’s surprising photo-journalism project – simply awesome facts about plants.(click on the picture to open a link to the full story)

plant

 

A thirteen year old Kazak girl and her hunting eagle.(click on the picture to open a link to the full story)

huntingeagles

Forgiveness where forgiveness was not possible – Rwanda 20 years on. (click on the picture to open a link to the full story)

rwanda

 

Children helping each other survive situations of extreme poverty and violence.(click on the picture to open a link to the full story)

syria

 

 

As you know I can’t resist a good blog trip uncovering stories of hope and transformation in corners of the world I’d condemned as poverty stricken and hopeless. I’ve been following this story closely and have to admit I’ve shed a few tears as I’ve read.(click on the picture to open a link to the full story)

 

haiti

 

One little girl learns to walk because her parents love her that much … (click on the picture to open a link to the full story)

eden

Finally, don’t miss this, the Easter message in song …

One thought on “Seven beautiful days …

  1. Kim these are all so amazingly beautiful especailliy the last. THANK you THANK you. Spreading beauty is what we are about. I am so glad I have the privelege of knowing you and your great family.

Leave a Reply

