Armchair traveller and armchair gifts

I haven’t posted much lately, I seem to be running out of words. There are a few scratched out lines in the notebooks but nothing you’d want to read (or at least nothing I’d want you to read). All my kind friends think I’m very creative and equally eloquent, which I am. But not all the time.

However, despite having been unable to put together a full blog post for about four weeks, I do have something to share. 

A couple of weeks ago, whilst we were all promoting our no make-up selfies and texting BEAT to 700709, as we curled up on the sofa come Friday with a glass of wine to watch Sport Relief and pledge our money using GiftAid from the comfort of our own armchairs, three brave bloggers were far from the comfort of their armchairs in Cambodia raising money for TearFund.

You can read about their adventures, using one click of the mouse here : Anita on stepping outside our comfort zones, Danny’s blog trip lessons and don’t miss Rich’s fantastic travel scrap book. The trip was of special interest to me because I had applied to go on it and sadly lost out to a blogger with a Twitter following of 36 000, a reflective Christian commentator who works for th EA and a highly creative photographer and artist with a visually stunning blog (no hard feelings, obviously!).

The 9 day trip organised by TearFund involved visiting the country, meeting it’s people, sharing with it’s church communities and seeing first hand the projects they were involved with, projects designed to support some of the poorest people in the world, projects designed to help families in need find a dignified way out of their lack. 

Each blogger was charged with the task of raising funds of £3 a month from 30 donors. This they would do by blogging, tweeting, Facebook-ing, photographing and otherwise amplifying their Cambodian story to those of us back home.

Later, whilst I was all over Facebook celebrating the power of social media and £8 million raised for Cancer Research, Danny and Rich were both sharing their disappointment that despite a successful trip they had not been able to raise as much money as they had planned.

hope

I read the pieces carefully and looked back over the posts from the trip. It got me thinking. I had followed the story daily, as I had followed similar blogging trips in the past. It was my own little social media/aid and development fix for those 9 days, minutes out of my schedule and a few re-tweets but no money pledged.

Andy was made redundant in the Autumn less than a year after I took a work decision that had cut my pay by half. We already had various giving commitments, very worthy giving commitments: we consider ourselves generous givers. We were not in a good position to give more. But we talked about it and decided we would give to the Cambodia project; which I did by texting HOPE to 70444.

I wanted to blog because I thought that someone reading might like to give too.

If one person gave £3 a month to TearFund as a result of reading my modest post today, I would consider that a job well done.

Thanks for reading.

24-Anita

rich wells

danny-webster

Anita Mathias blogs at, Dreaming Beneath the Spires

Rich Wells can be found at, richwells.me

Danny Webster blogs at Broken Cameras and Gustav Klimt

You can trace the Cambodia Blog trip on twitter using the #tfbloggers #cambodia

There are two ways you can give to Tearfund:

Text HOPE TODAY to 70444
Texting this number will subscribe you to give £3 a month to See For Yourself, Tearfund. It will be added to your mobile phone bill. Tearfund receives 100% of the money. This subscription service will cost £3.00 per month until you send STOP to 70080.

Give online
You can donate through Tearfund’s website here.

What will this money do?
If 60 people signed up for just £3 a month that could mean 70 new families in Cambodia could have their lives transformed through the Umoja process. That means 70 families who can get a better education, learn new skills and lift themselves out of poverty once and for all.

Leave a Reply

