More crowds

Sometimes at the weekends I like to join mom blogger Lisa-Jo Baker on Five Minute Friday and this week I have invited some friends to join me.

I’m delighted that one has already responded to the challenge. She’s a true wordsmith and gifted communicated with an incredible grace story to tell. She would like her offering to be published anonymously (which I shall respect) and I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I have.

START

Crowd. Is that ‘crowd’ as a noun or a verb ? I need to know. It matters. I don’t want to start off wrong. Or… maybe, I get to decide – even worse ! I’m a woman of a certain age now, you know, where any kind of minor decision making sends me into a mental tailspin. The big stuff is easy. Its the small, everyday stuff that causes a fog to descend within my brain…….

Right, well, I choose both. There ! But, now what ? Is this supposed to be about what ‘crowd’ means to me ? Um…. that could get personal.

I could write about how lonely I feel in a crowd and yet how I crave the anonymity brought by being within one. By the way, at what point does a group become a crowd ? Is there a specific number that constitutes a crowd ? And why does my brain ask questions so incessantly ? Four here already and I’ve barely started. Questions, thoughts, forward planning and backward reflecting all crowd my mind on a daily basis. So I run – literally – to escape them, and success comes fleetingly as my ipod blares, my body strains and I delight in the feeling of  revitalising fresh air brushing over my face. No crowds there today, but come the summer, there surely will be. Crowds bring this town to life. So crowds can be good. Crowds can test your determination to not just go with the flow but, rather, push through them to reach someone or something that you really, really want. Crowd means people – an undeterminable number of them – doing something and being something. Crowds bestow a sense of togetherness, a sense of safety and of belonging.

Now, isn’t that what everyone really wants ?

5minutefriday

What is Five Minute Friday?

We write for five minutes flat. All on the same prompt that I post here at 1 minute past midnight EST ever Friday. And we connect on Twitter with the hashtag #FiveMinuteFriday

No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation.

Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

Today’s prompt is, ‘CROWDS’.

Why not join in sharing some words. Message me!

4 thoughts on “More crowds

  1. Well CROWD is a place or space were I do not feel safe
    Space all filled with noises, smells and people a place I want to escape with haste
    It’s taste makes me feel fear want to run from here!
    But each time I am in the crowd I learn to stand and take my place as part of the space
    I learn more n more that God is with me and for me so I shall not be afraid I will learn to stand n take my place in the space and not leave with haste

Leave a Reply

