Do not lose heart

I’ve been singing along to this song for most of the day. I began un-comfortable with the idea that God would slay, but I sang anyway. I sang on like I’ve done many times. I sang on thinking of friends finding Christ in all the mess of everyday life where everyday miracles settle the matter over and above the surface meaning of simple words.

I would struggle to do justice theologically to the words of Job in the lines, “Though he slay me, yet will I hope in him.” (Job 13.15)  All around us is a measure and a quality of human pain that is difficult to respond to in written words or in a simple song. Nothing makes atheists faster than Christian theology that is too quick in giving neat answers to difficult question. Nothing makes discouraged Christians faster than answers that do not direct them to Jesus. All that I know of Jesus persuades me that there is a measure and a quality of God, found in Christ, that is more than equal to the pain and suffering we know and see in the world. 

Paul writes in 2 Corinthians 4.16-18,  

Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day.  For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all.  So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.

So, I am in no doubt that there is an ever increasing measure of the love of God available for each of us. What is more, I am convinced that our best God-treasure will be found when we seek Him in our trouble and distress. I am convinced that no suffering, however desperate or severe, is without meaning and purpose in the beautiful plan that God has for our lives. I am certain that in every circumstance we can know this love of God as, “an eternal glory that far outweighs them all”.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Do not lose heart

Leave a Reply

