Baby knits and other thanks

needles

So, some friends had a new baby on Saturday. Which is beautiful and surprising: we didn’t even know they were expecting!

I had to get knitting quickly and I was very glad of the two hour baby hat pattern which I wrote for the blog in the spring. This time I made it up from a small ball of sale bin yarn I bought in John Lewis last Christmas. I rang the changes with a moss stitch band instead of the usual knit-one-purl-one rib and I’m pretty pleased with the results. I’ll get it in the post just as soon as I can and I’m looking forwards to hearing this particular new baby story some time in the not too distant future.

hat

knit

This knitting and blogging all coincides with a couple of messages I received on the blog from knitters who had completed the hat project themselves and were kind enough to let me know the pattern worked for them. Peggy and Elizabeth, thanks for the comments, it was great to hear from you!

The blog post containing the homespun knitting pattern has a history of unusual and unexpected responses. It had been viewed at least one or two times every day since I published it which I guess is largely due to the way I tagged it: 4 ply baby hat pattern, easy baby hat pattern.  It is accessed in a way that none of my other blog posts are found or viewed. I must have got something right. I had planned to blog faith stuff  but have been surprised with how popular posts on baking and knitting have been.

A couple of months ago now the pattern got pinned on Pinterest and since then the traffic has increased further. The number of views are relatively small but for me they are significant. It’s nice when people read your blog! It would sound very worthy for me to say I write only for myself, but I don’t. After years of writing for myself I decided I wanted to write for an audience.  That’s why I have a blog, it’s public on the internet and I write it because I want people to read it. So thanks to every one who has read the blog.  Thanks for all your encouragement, comments and Facebook ‘likes’. It means a lot to me and keeps me writing. And writing make me happy.

Frederick Buechner said, “Vocation is where our greatest passion meets the world’s greatest need”.  According to that definition I am not yet able to call my writing a vocation yet but I’m getting closer. So I will keep writing.

Thanks for reading.

I am currently developing the one hour baby mitten pattern and it should be up on the blog soon. In the meantime, if you are interested, you can find the original two hour baby hat here.

2 thoughts on “Baby knits and other thanks

  1. Good Morning,

    Gorgeous wool, baby will love it. Thrilled with how my two turned out. I did two by two rib on mine. I must have done something wrong on both as I had 10 stitches left and this was after knitting decrease row one twice, but, they look quite alright.

    Regards Elizabeth

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

