What I am reading

photo

I have a day off today and we’re all enjoying a little autumn inspired baking. It’s raining outside but the forecast says it will clear up, so we can get out later and cook some sausages under a starry sky. As for my first blog post of the month of November I thought I’d share a little of what I’m reading because that is always a good conversation starter, especially amongst those of us who read deep and wide without prejudice and with out concern that we have to agree with everything we read.

I felt a little light headed when Alice Munro was awarded a Nobel prize a few weeks ago, what an achievement and well deserved recognition! I’d been reading her and some other female short stories writers over the summer, feeling that this was really the only kind of fiction I wanted to read. I’m especially recommending some collections and a little background reading. The Flannery O’Connor is not for the faint hearted but a must for any Christian pilgrim with an interest in fiction.

The Love of a Good Woman, short stories by Alice Munro

Runaway, short stories by Alice Munro

Alice Munro: Riches of a double life, by Aida Edemariam for Guardian Books

Alice Munro: An Appreciation, by Margaret Atwood

Binocular Vision, short stories by Edith Pearlman (why did no one tell me about this!)

Everything That Rises Must Converge, short stories by Flannery O’Connor (out of print but easy to come by second hand, I include a link to one on-line story)

photo

Around the internet I have enjoyed,

The Mythical “They”, by Jen Hatmaker

life, God … God, life, by Kathy Escobar

In which the world changers need some balance, a guest post by Sarah Cunningham at sarahbessy.com

The things that take leaders down, by Sarah Cunningham at rachelheldevans.com

To be inconvenienced, by Kristin for A Deeper Story

Christ and Scripture, a blog in four parts by Trevor Lloyd at differentkingdom.com

Please feel free to share with me some of the things you’ve been reading from the book shelf or on-line. The book shelf can never be to full!

You can’t buy happiness, but you can buy books and that’s kind of the same thing.

Leave a Reply

