A great weekend plus snickers muffins

I had a great weekend and thought I would post a blog before Andy and I set out on our date night walk on the beach.

photo

I was in charge on Friday night whilst Andy went over to Clitheroe to be with old work colleagues. I managed to get everyone to the right place at the right times and suitably fed (I don’t always manage this!) Lucy and I even had time to enjoy some fast food on the beach.

When I got in on Friday night it was too lonely to go to bed so I indulged in a little late night baking: snickers muffins and strawberry cheesecake. And because so many of you asked, I added the recipe at the end of this post.

On Saturday I went to a hen party brunch for the lovely bride-to-be, Helen. This is only the second hen event I’ve ever been to and I think I excelled myself by talking more frankly about sex than anyone else in the room and causing a few giggles (OK, not giggles, raucous laughter!) amongst the married women. I’m proud of that!

The rest of the weekend was spent in the wonderful company of our dear friend Katherine visiting from Australia. Twelve years ago she was part of an awe inspiring bunch of students who joined us for a time at the church in Lancaster and it was good to hear her memories and how her time in England has been a big part of her personal story in God. She was such a lovely house guest and blessed us all just by being.

Finally, our wonderful youth (who I love beyond what is reasonable) led the Sunday service and I got to spend some Sunday school time doing play-dough and reading Rainbow Fish with the under fives, followed by BBQ. And all this still left time for afternoon beer and books in the garden sun.

photo

photo

photo

Snickers Muffins

Ingredients

9oz/250g SR flour

4-5oz/100-150g castor sugar or golden castor sugar

1 heaped teaspoon baking powder

4 heaped table spoons smooth or crunchy peanut butter

4 snickers bars cut into small pieces

4oz/100g chocolate chips

4-5fl oz/100-150ml  milk or butter milk

3oz/75g melted butter

2 eggs

Preheat the oven, 160 or gas mark 3

Whizz up the flour and peanut butter in a food processor until in resembles sand/fine breadcrumbs

Combine with baking powder, chocolate chips, snickers bar bits and sugar in a bowl

Lightly beat the eggs then, combine all the wet ingredients in a second bowl

Combine the dry and the wet ingredients, being careful not to mix them too thoroughly

Divide the mixture between 12 muffin cases in a muffin pan

Bake until the muffins are well risen and lightly browned, 20-25 minutes

Cool on a wire tray

photo

photo

Leave a Reply

