Out of proportion

It wasn’t sensible and it wasn’t economical but it did make me smile.  It was an act entirely out of proportion …

I was stunned-happy, lost for words, blown away on Sunday morning when Andy and the kids decided to show up at my School of the Word graduation.

photo

Surprised that in the middle of a hectic end of term, summer time rush, with visitors at home and commitments at church they would suddenly change schedule.  That they would rise early and drive 130 miles just to see the look of surprise on my drained and weary face when they walked into that service.  At a time of year when hours are scarce Andy broke protocol that we did the Bible school programme separately over consecutive years, first him then me. The most sensible, efficient, least upheaval, family-friendly plan.

Surprised that he would pull them all from their Sunday morning lie ins and into the car for a four hour journey to a short forty five minute service, a certificate and handshake then all the way back again, 130 miles, half a tank of petrol, hours of motorway boredom.

It wasn’t sensible and it wasn’t economical but it did make me smile.  It was an act entirely out of  proportion …

The gospel we have is a gift run out of control. The gospel of Christ is a gratuity out of all reasonable proportion. It is peace, joy and righteousness on a scale that is frankly irresponsible. It confounds all reckoning, is an embarrassment to the balance sheet, it defies sense, throws scorn on frugality and is extravagant to the point of shame.

This gospel is a love completely undeserved, a love that could never be earned. Really, there is nothing I can ever do to make Him love me more and nothing I can do to make Him love me less (that’s NOTHING!). When He forgave my sin it was everything in my past and everything in my present and he even knew about my future failings (however gross) and he still said, it is done. And he meant done, finished, completely complete.

He was never unsure or casual or reticent about this love.  God never said, let’s take it slow, let’s see how it goes. Through hell and high water, in sickness and in health, forgetting all others and anything else, he loved me to hell and back and death itself can not change that.

He loved out of all proportion, lavish, expensive and without compare. This love is like a woman with a jar of perfume worth a whole years wages, washing the feet of Jesus, anointing him with the oil and wiping away the excess with her long, long hair.

It wasn’t sensible and it wasn’t economical but it did make me smile.  It was an act entirely out of proportion …

A woman in that town who lived a sinful life learned that Jesus was eating at the Pharisee’s house, so she came there with an alabaster jar of perfume. As she stood behind him at his feet weeping, she began to wet his feet with her tears. Then she wiped them with her hair, kissed them and poured perfume on them. Then he turned toward the woman and said to Simon, “Do you see this woman? I came into your house. You did not give me any water for my feet, but she wet my feet with her tears and wiped them with her hair. You did not give me a kiss, but this woman, from the time I entered, has not stopped kissing my feet. Therefore, I tell you, her many sins have been forgiven—as her great love has shown. But whoever has been forgiven little loves little.” Jesus said to the woman, “Your faith has saved you; go in peace.”

(Luke 7:37, 38, 44, 45, 47, 50 NIV)

One thought on “Out of proportion

Leave a Reply

