Right Here and Now

Five Minute Friday

Five Minute Friday is a weekly link up from mom blogger Lisa-Jo Baker.

We write for five minutes flat. All on the same prompt that I post here at 1 minute past midnight EST ever Friday. And we connect on Twitter with the hashtag #FiveMinuteFriday

No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation.

Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

Today’s prompt is, ‘Here …’

GO:

I might have been another person in another time and place, doing different things with different people. I might have smiled a different smile and my tears might have run into some other ocean swell. I might have learnt the things I know, in a different school of lessons than the one I find myself enrolled in now. I might have lived greater, bigger or much more out-in-the-open and free.

At times I have wondered on more children in a bigger house, down a pot-holed lane, with chickens in the yard and bread in the oven awaiting guests.

I wonder how things would have turned out if I had been less angry, more forgiving and more aware that I am loved.

But I know this: God grounds me in a time called NOW and God brings me to a place called HERE. He calls me to act in each ordinary minute with the intentions I give all aspiration and ambition. He tells me love, fully and whole-heatedly with the plain dull lovelies I see every day and he tells me there is enough, and then more than enough in doing this alone.

“Follow me,” he says.

Not later, but now.

Not in some other place, but here.

Jesus pulls our future dreams into the right NOW moments of our everyday lives. There he is with the fishermen at the lakeside and the women in their homes, or in the village synagogue, or travelling on the road. He is Lord of those who mourn, the poor in spirit and all who seek and in the present moment that is NOW he tells us “I am”, he tells us love.

He is God, with all of time at his command; He is flesh and the only moment that he has is now. He is Spirit, indwelling, in-loving, in-living.

STOP.

Love begins at home, and it is not how much we do but how much love we put into that action.

We think sometimes that poverty is only being hungry, naked and homeless. The poverty of being unwanted, unloved and uncared for is the greatest poverty. We must start in our own homes to remedy this kind of poverty.

Mother Teresa

4 thoughts on “Right Here and Now

    • Thanks. How lovely to think someone else has read something you wrote and found it a help.
      I read your post too, I think we link well. Your post is very practical about how we will improve our relationships and bless others when we are more present with them.

Leave a Reply

