#oneword365

 

rest2

There remains, then, a Sabbath-rest for the people of God; for anyone who enters God’s rest also rests from their works, just as God did from his. Let us, therefore, make every effort to enter that rest, so that no one will perish by following their example of disobedience. (Hebrews 4:9-11 NIV)

I’ve chosen my word, and it is REST.

Some scriptures follow you around all your life until you face up to them and a sabbath- day’s rest for all the people of God is one of mine and it takes some facing. It takes some facing, if you areΒ  a driven person, or a working person, or a mum.

So a very honest person would look the scripture straight in the eye and challenge it, ‘So where is this REST?’ and the scripture would talk back, ‘Come and see!’

And recently I did. And there on the left side, at the place I shall call heart, I found a rest in Jesus that was all done and as it should be.

The next day I returned and it was still there.

By the following day it had grown enough to call it ENOUGH.

And then it overflowed.

When Christ had finished all he and done he sat down. (Hebrews 10.12)

So at the end of our day (and sometimes at the beginning too) we also sit down and know that, though for a while we live between the driven, the anxious and the busy, there is indeed a sabbath-rest for all us good people of God.

REST.

oneword365 is a web project designed to help you find a focus for the year ahead. Find out more by visiting, oneword365.com

2 thoughts on “#oneword365

  1. Rest is a good word. In August, the sheloves community focused on Rest and I started the month thinking, “well that’s a bit dull” and finished it realising how in need I had been, how important it was for the rest of my days, my week, my life.
    I’ve been following you on twitter for a while – glad to have found my way here today πŸ™‚

    • I read the sheloves rest pieces but probably need to re-read. Thanks for reminding me. Lovely to hear from you,thanks for taking the time to comment. I’m hoping to get to the bottom of the REST idea this year. I have a feeling it’s more fundamental that taking a day off each week or sitting down with a cup of tea on a busy day. More about the grace of the God who is able.

Leave a Reply

